Updating Results

University of Adelaide

  • 28% international / 72% domestic

Beacon Scholarships for PhD Applicants

About this scholarship

New scholarships enable research students to seek new knowledge.

The University of Adelaide's strategic plan The Beacon of Enlightenment outlines an initiative to double the number of scholarships available to doctoral students.

To fulfil this initiative, the University will establish a new group of full scholarships, each valued up to $200,000 to enable outstanding students to join the University and undertake a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Adelaide.

International Applications:

Unlike our existing scholarships which are open to the wider international community, these new scholarships will target the University's international partner institutions. Additionally a small number scholarships will be devoted to assist the development of staff in Universities wishing to enhance their institutions academic standing, especially those in developing remote areas.

Domestic Applications:

In addition to partner-linked international scholarships the new initiative will also provide a number of enhanced domestic scholarships that will enable students to add a period of overseas research experience to their doctoral training. Unlike our existing scholarships which are open to the wider domestic community, these new scholarships will require students to work in collaboration with one of the University's international partner institutions and it expected students will spend at least 12 months overseas on part of their research program.

How to Apply

The University reserves the right to offer these scholarships by invitation, but students who wish to be considered should apply through the normal domestic application or international application process. However, in addition, they should arrange for their sponsoring supervisor to contact the Dean of Graduate Studies explaining briefly the nature of the joint program involved.

Key international partners being sponsored under the Beacon program in 2016 are:

  • The University of Nottingham (Plant Sciences, Inorganic chemistry, Food Science and Medicine)
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University (Plant Sciences and Medicine)
  • Nagoya University (Medicine and Biomedical Engineering)
  • Albert-Ludwig’s-University, Freiburg (Cancer Research)
  • North Carolina State University
  • Institute for Process Engineering, Chinese Academy of Sciences (Chemical Engineering)


  • Female
  • Male
Eligible Study Fields
Engineering & Mathematics