Updating Results

Curtin University

  • 28% international / 72% domestic

MRIWA - Directors' Postgraduate Scholarships

Key details

$40,000 per annum
Length of Support
3 years
Number Offered

About this scholarship

“The Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia is a statutory body, established by the Western Australian Government under the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia Act 2013, to stimulate minerals research to support investment in, and operation of, a globally competitive minerals industry in Western Australia”.

The MRIWA Directors’ Postgraduate Scholarships are offered to encourage postgraduate research by students of exceptional research promise in particular fields which MRIWA Directors believe to be critical to the future development of the Minerals Industry in Western Australia.  A total of one scholarship will be awarded to students commencing their Doctoral study in participating Western Australian universities.

The three fields are:  Minerals Data Analytics, In Situ Leaching and Scale up from Bench to Production. 

 Further information about the activities of the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia can be obtained after visiting the website http://www.mriwa.wa.gov.au/

Student type

  • Future Students


  • WASM

Course type

  • Postgraduate Research


Non-gender specific


  • Australian Permanent Resident
  • Permanent Humanitarian Visa
  • Australian Citizen
  • New Zealand Citizen
  • International students

Scholarship base

  • Merit Based

Maximum number awarded



The MRIWA Directors’ Scholarships provide an annual stipend for up to three years.  Successful candidates will receive a stipend of no less than $40,000 per annum tax-free.

Eligibility criteria

Area of research must be in:

  • Minerals Data Analytics;
  • In Situ leaching; and
  • Scale up from Bench to Production.

Applicants must contact one of these supervisors to discuss their research proposal in the first instance:

  • Mineral Data Analytics: Dr Louisa O'Connor, Professor Chris Aldrich, Dr Richard Browner, Professor Boris Gurevic;
  • In Situ Leaching: Professor Jacques Eksteen with Dr Mostafa Sharifzadeh and Dr Waqar Asad (all three supervisors);
  • Scale up from Bench to Production: Professor Jacques Eksteen with A/Professor Don Ibana, Dr Boris Albijanic, Dr Richard Browner, A/Professor Nimal Subasinghe, Dr Laurence Dyer.

With an approved research proposal from the listed supervisors above, applicants must apply for admission at Curtin via online e-application: http://www.curtin.edu.au/research/conduct-research/apply/index.cfm (this is a requirement before submitting your expression of interest to MRIWA).

Applications open: CLOSED
Applications close: CLOSED


Eligible Degrees
  • Masters (Research)
  • Female
  • Male
Eligible Study Fields